Baby Steps to Whole Health

…steady is as steady goes.

Healing Lemonade!

on November 28, 2014

Folks, I haven’t been sick in a long time. Seriously – it has been over two years since I have succumbed to any form of seasonal virus or bacteria. I reside in the body of the most amazing immune system on the planet, I’m sure of it. Last February, my entire family got a horrible flu – fevers reaching 105 degrees, coughs, headaches, noses, ears, the whole shebang. Me? I intimately took care of every single one of them without developing so much as a sniffle. You know why? Because my immune system rocks. And because I have a couple little tricks that I like to employ throughout the year to keep myself healthy.

Firstly, I eat very little sugar at all. My husband and kids like to indulge more often than I do (I don’t purchase soda or energy drinks, but they are permitted to use their money for whatever they like), and knowing that sugar lowers the immune system response for up to 5 hours after consuming it, I do believe my lower intake of sugar is part of the reason I don’t get sick. Secondly, I eat more fruits and vegetables than they do. I serve them to everyone, but I enjoy them more and understand the good they do for my health, so I choose to eat more of them and more often. Even if I don’t particularly enjoy something, knowing it’s going to benefit my health is a good enough reason for me to eat it – not so with children! Just knowing there’s something green in a delightfully flavored smoothie is a good enough reason for them to NOT drink it!! Which brings me to my third secret (well, I suppose the others aren’t really secrets), my Healing Lemonade!! My kids absolutely loathe this drink, so getting them to drink it is nearly impossible, even when you give them just a single ounce and tell them to chug it. Every time I feel a bit of anything, sinus-y or otherwise, attempting to come on (the tickle in your throat, a small ache in the ears, that funky mouth feeling you get, etc.), I whip up a batch of this lemonade and drink a glass. And then some more in the morning. Did I mention I haven’t been sick in over two years?? When people complain on Facebook about being sick, I share this recipe with them. The people who use it feel better! So I bring you my feel good recipe for keeping myself healthy…

Healing Lemonade

2 cups water (hot or cold, depending on your mood)

Juice of 1/2 a lemon

1 inch of ginger, peeled

1 Tbsp RAW honey (you can use regular, but raw honey has benefits that cooked honey doesn’t)

Process all ingredients in blender and drink. If you don’t like the little bits of ginger, you can chop it finely and place it in a piece of cheesecloth (or even cut it into pieces large enough to remove with a spoon), then steep in the warm water for a few minutes. Personally, I think the benefit of having it all outweighs any unpleasant feeling in my mouth. And if you’re doing the steeping, you don’t even need a blender – just mix all the stuff up in a mug and drink up!

A votre sante!

*** In making this recently, I discovered that actually grating the ginger into a pan of water and boiling it for a few minutes actually renders a better flavored result! I then pour the liquid through a cheesecloth sieve into a mason jar before adding the lemon and honey! ***

Do you have any healthy tricks you use to keep yourself going strong throughout the year?

Leave a Reply

